Read it: 1001 Paintings You Must See Before You Die

1001 Paintings You Must See Before You Die

I’m a big fan of the arts and I love reading the different painting interpretations. It fascinates me to think that people even from way back in the prehistoric times has already applied symbolism in different aspects of the visual art.

As I was strolling around the bookstore, I chanced upon this book. I could not help but buy it especially because it’s already the last copy they had. So I grabbed the opportunity while it’s there right in front of me waiting to be bought. It felt as if Medusa was screaming, “buy me you bitch or you’ll never see me on the shelves again”. And before you know it, Medusa’s head was in the paper bag.

As I went home, I immediately flipped the pages. Ran through the different art periods and reminisced the times I was so hard on learning and cramming every inch and detail of those paintings in my brain. Yeah, those were the days when I had to know every single detail. Now, it felt more natural because I’m now just appreciating the paintings’ beauty and not forcing it in my head. Better.

Anyway, back to the book. I wish I had scored a good deal at buying this book back when I was a student. It would have been very helpful in my study of the history of world art. The book is arranged according to periods so everything was placed chronologically. All famous paintings were included. What I liked the most was everything was explained in detail. No need to do research work on the different painting interpretations because its all laid down on the book. If there was something I don’t like about the book it would be that the photos are too small so you could not see all those little things explained on the text but I guess it’s forgivable given the amount of information written.

Overall, I recommend this book for students studying the arts. Its a good read and a helpful reference just in case you’re into research. I also think this would make a good coffee table book to present to home visitors. It would at least spark their interest in the visual arts.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read it: 1001 Paintings You Must See Before You Die

  1. Princez says:

    Where do you think i could buy a copy? Im from the philippines. Pls help. Thanks

    • mynihility says:

      I bought my copy in bestsellers (4th level robinsons galleria) a year ago. But you can ask the customer service of national bookstore nearest your place because they can track available books in any branch. 🙂
      Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

