Read It: A Separate Peace

A Separate Peace

A Separate Peace – by John Knowles

As I was reorganizing my shelf, I came across a copy of A Separate Peace and it reminded me of my favorite book when I was a senior in high school. During my senior year, we were required to read this novel by John Knowles and of course, being a book recommended by the school, my first impression was that this was going to be another boring and tedious read. As it turns out, I became ultimately hooked with the book and was able to finish it even before the set deadline. We had discussions per chapter in our English class and I remember being fully attentive during those brief discussions. It was nice reminiscing and now that I have come across at one of the first books I ever loved, I am driven to read it again and see if it still affects me the way it did 7 years ago (how time flies right?)

The story of A Separate Peace is about Gene and his narration of his life 15 years ago during his stay at a prep school. The story revolves around Gene and his bestfriend Phineas, their struggles and adventures on life, education, deceit, enviousness and jealousy, forgiveness and true friendship.

I really like the novel and am deeply touched with the way things went on the story.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

