Read It: Sophie’s World

Sophie's World

Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

So, one night my sister and I went out for dinner and just before going home, I can’t help but go take a peek in Fully Booked. Being a booklover, I just can’t help leaving the store without at least one book in hand. Besides all those Fifty Shades displayed at the store front, the sales man recommended this book because he said its a good read and also a best seller.

Sophie’s World is a story about Sophie Amundsen and her journey into discovering the world of Philosophy. Sophie one day receives a mysterious letter and so begins a series of lectures about Philosophy and the well-known (and not so known) Philosophers by Alberto Knox.

I’m no Philosophy major so I must admit I have absolutely zero idea what all this was about. I was intrigued on the events on the first few chapters but then it began to get boring. Sophie meets Alberto and they have this discussion about Philosophers and their theories and so on. Most dialogues concentrate on the history of Philosophy and I just can’t feel how in any way this book would entertain me, except for some enlightening facts and the mystery behind Hilde and her father.

I tried reading this continuously but I don’t think it worked because of all the information explained and expounded is just too much for one sitting. If you’re planning to read this book, I suggest you take it one chapter at a time. Information overload is not a good thing. It gave me a headache.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Read It: Sophie’s World

  1. ramipon says:

    its a bit heavy handed with the information but once you get to the end, it will all come together 🙂

    • mynihility says:

      I agree. Actually, I kept reading because i wanted to find out what the deal is with Hilde and her dad, Alberto and Sophie. All those philosophical facts are just too much for me I guess. 🙂

      • ramipon says:

        hehe… the thing about philosophical information is; we don’t usually understand it the first time around, but one day perhaps, you will remember a particular philosophy and BOOM it just suddenly makes sense 😀

        i dont know if its just me… but i did happen to me a couple of times 🙂

Leave a Reply

