Read It: The Hobbit

The Hobbit

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit is a story about the adventures and misadventures of Mr. Bilbo Baggins. It is about the journey of Bilbo with the company of Thorin and his dwarf men as they search and reclaim the dwarves’ old treasures in the Lonely Mountain from Smaug the dragon.

This is actually the first Tolkien book I have read and I loved it. I am now wondering why didn’t I ever bother picking this book up when I first saw it on the shelves. And because of that, I am now thinking of picking up the sequels (The Lord of the Rings). I want to know if the sequels will disappoint me or not (knowing that it has already been released as motion pictures years before – and I haven’t watched a single of them!). The truth is, the reason why I read this book is because a movie is already on its way to cinemas and I’m the type who doesn’t want to watch movie adaptations without reading the material first.

What I liked about the book is the way the story was told. It seems more like a fairytale narrated by an old wizard. I can actually imagine how the narrator’s voice sounds like. There is a friendly and positive sound to it. I don’t know about the other readers but this is how I saw it. The pace of the story was fast and I never felt like there was a dull moment within the plot. Everything was unfolded in equal intervals.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Read It: The Hobbit

  1. beckyday6 says:

    The Hobbit is one of my favourite books! I’m glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

