Book Review 101

I love reading. It helps me relax and broaden my imagination. I like to think that reading helps me be more creative because it triggers me to imagine places, people and circumstances up in this cuckoo-head of mine. I have been an avid reader of random books since I was in third grade. I remember the first time I had my library card in school and was really happy to be able to borrow books from our school library. And up until now, I still haven’t let go of the habit – it’s just so addicting.

I have been sharing my reading experiences and would love to share how I do these so-called book reviews since a friend has asked me, “How do you review a book?”. But really, there is no special formula nor specific format in doing so. You just have to love the stuff you do and the rest will follow. Although this is how I do mine:

  1. Pick a book – any book. I like picking up random books whenever I try to purchase books in a store. Sometimes, I base my purchase on the book cover and other times, based on recommendations given by friends and/or online reviews. It doesn’t have to be in a specific genre. Whatever is there, I’d be glad to give it a shot.
  2. Read when you’re in the mood – You don’t have to force yourself when you are not in the mood for reading because chances are, you will  not fully understand the material you’re reading. It really is best to read when you feel like you want to and not because you have to.
  3. Don’t be afraid to pick up and start a new book even if you’re not yet done with first one – Again, you don’t have to force yourself to finish one book before picking up a new one. Sometimes, some books tend to be a tedious read and you just have to have a breather. If you feel like you want to veer away from your current read, do so. No one said skipping a book isn’t allowed. Just be sure to go back to it when you feel like finishing it again.
  4. It’s okay to take your time – Reading takes time and you don’t have to do it as if you are facing the apocalypse.
  5. When you write your review, be honest – Just because everybody loves this novel, doesn’t mean you have to love it too. If you don’t like it, it’s okay to voice out your opinion. Literature, just like art, is very subjective. There is no wrong in judging one book to be inferior or a- flop or a great work. It’s all a matter of personal taste.
About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Whatnots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

