Why Read When You Can’t

“Why do you love reading?”

It’s a question asked mockingly and repeatedly. It is as if reading is a sin. A grave threat to the social status. A gateway to total geek-dom or nerd-verse.

So why do I love to read?

  • It’s something I’m fond of doing when I’m not really doing anything in particular.
  • I enjoy the imaginative world books give me. A brief escape from reality.
  • You meet different types of people and hear their journey. You become perceptive to their thoughts and feelings.
  • You become creative. You weave an entire movie in your mind to the point where movie adaptations become a total letdown.
  • Because in the end, things always turn out for the better.
  • And because I generally think that there are more good books to read than shows to watch.

Reading is not a bore. It’s how you perceive the story which makes it boring.

Sometimes, I wish I don’t have to answer why. I just love to read and I don’t know why. I just do.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Whatnots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Read When You Can’t

  1. rumadak says:

    i love reading too and agree with all the points you listed here!!

Leave a Reply

