Read It: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

“I can finally see that all the terrible parts of my life, the embarrassing parts, the incidents I wanted to pretend never happened, and the things that make me “weird” and “different,” were actually the most important parts of my life. They were the parts that made me ME.”

  1. I must admit this was pretty funny. A lot of the things that has happened made me question if these events were really possible and then there were photos. So I guess, it verifies my questions. It is a light and quick read, something to cheer you up at the end of a tiring(or stressful) day.
  2. There wasn’t really a chronological order of events in the chapters. It was confusing at first but I made a mental note to treat each chapter as a different story altogether.
  3. I feel like I was reading someone’s blog. Or maybe more like, I feel like I was listening to a close friend telling a story about what happened during her day. I can imagine myself that at the end of the day I am on the phone (or in a coffee shop) with a friend and she goes on and on what happened to her for the last 24 hours. She tells things as they are and then jumps to another thought and then goes back to the original story.
  4. And I think Victor is a cool partner because he keeps up with Jenny’s oddities.
About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

