Music Junkie: Arctic Monkeys

I am currently laughing at myself for honestly mixing up dates! I was thinking that our TFG March f2f was scheduled on the 28th but it really is today, the 21st. If it wasn’t for a co-member/friend, I may not have realized the mistake and wouldn’t be able to attend. And I was anticipating the f2f for a month now! It would have been a total waste if I was not able to go because I replied ‘yes’ on the RSVP and already placed my order since the first week of March. Since the mix-up is now clear, I am trying to squeeze in as much work before heading out in the afternoon. I have deadlines and I think I’m behind. So, time to make a playlist to keep me inspired.

If you ask me who my favorite band is, I might gush and shout that it’s the Arctic Monkeys(fan girl moment here)! I am not exactly sure when I first heard the band’s songs, maybe around 2008 or 2009. But I just know I love their music since hearing their songs while browsing for new songs to listen to. And since then, I mostly play their songs on repeat or maybe play their songs first before anyone else’s. I mostly like their music because of the upbeat and  interesting rhythm of the guitars and drums. I also like the idea that they have a theme for every album.

The Arctic Monkeys is an English rock band formed in 2002 and has released 5 albums since. Here are my favorites from each album:

  • Beneath The Boardwalk (2004 unofficial demo collection) – 1) Choo Choo 2) Dancin’ Shoes
  • Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not (2006) – 1) A Certain Romance [this is my number 1 favorite song from their band] 2) I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor 3) Fake Tales of San Francisco 4) Mardy Bum
  • Leave Before The Lights Come On (2006 single) – 1) Baby I’m Yours [2nd favorite song] 2) Leave Before The Lights Come On
  • Favourite Worst Nightmare (2007) – 1) Teddy Picker 2) Brianstorm 3) Fluorescent Adolescent
  • Humbug (2009) – 1) My Propeller 2) Cornerstone 3) Crying Lighting
  • Suck It and See (2011) – 1) Brick by Brick 2) Suck It and See 3) Black Treacle
  • AM (2013) – 1) Do I Wanna Know 2) Arabella 3) One for The Road 4) Snap Out Of It 5) I Wanna Be Yours

How I wish they could go here in the Philippines for a concert someday.

Hope you liked their music as much as I do. Happy weekend! 🙂

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Music Junkie: Arctic Monkeys

  1. Meliza says:

    I’m not that exposed yet to Arctic Monkeys music so I plan to listen to this playlist today at work. 🙂

    • mynihility says:

      Great! Tell me what you think after you listened to their songs. 🙂

      • Meliza says:

        I like most of the songs. I haven’t listened to all of them yet. Haha! I love the drum parts too especially from Balaclava, Black Treacle, and The View From the Afternoon. The cover of Diamonds are Forever is also cool. I also like the slower ones like The Bakery, No Buses and Baby I’m Yours. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

