Ludo: Boardgame Bar & Cafe

Last Monday, my reading buddies and I planned to meet to discuss the current book we’re reading (Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell). We agreed to go to Ludo Boardgame Bar & Cafe so we can discuss the book then try play the board games available for the customers. Well, we ended up playing and discussing the book very very briefly.

I arrived around 6:20pm, earlier than our meet up time because I have read that the place gets packed by dinner time and yes, the place was already full and we had to wait to get seated. The place is small and cramped and with the theme of playing board games inside a bar/cafe, it was definitely noisy. There are a lot groups playing loudly, laughing and dining all at the same time so if you’re planning to go here to dine and chill out – don’t!

Once seated, we ordered from their menu which  I think is a very limited choice of Japanese food, pasta and some appetizers. They have a lot of drinks to offer though, they have coffees, milkshakes, cocktails and beers. I ordered their chicken yakiniku (Php 185) and a mug of IBC float (Php 180). The chicken yakiniku was just okay, nothing special. The serving was kind of small or rather disproportionate – there were too much rice to chicken ratio. I love the IBC rootbeer float! Maybe because I really love rootbeer floats and the ice cream serving was generous. They also served the bottle so we can pour the remaining contents to our mug.

Of course, the main reason we wanted to go here was to experience playing different kinds of board games. We felt really thrilled and confused just by looking at the vast choices available for playing. If you want to play a board game, you just simply get the box and bring it to your table. If you’re not familiar with the game, you can ask a server to teach you how. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We tried 4 different board games during our whole stay and we asked the staff to teach us how each time. Hehe. I loved the place and would definitely want to go back and try the other games.

Address: Sct. Fuentebella cor. Sct. Torillo St., Sacred Heart, Quezon City

Store Hours: 4pm-12mn (Mon.-Fri.), 12nn-12mn (Sat.-Sun.)

Budget: Php 200 – 700

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Food Trip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ludo: Boardgame Bar & Cafe

  1. Lovely says:

    Hi Elaine! Just discovered your blog.. I learned that you are a member in “GoodReads: The Filipino Group”. I am actually a member too but I’m not active there because I’m not really a hardcore book worm..hahaha! I was invited by Alona dela Cruz. I think you know her.I love her drama reviews! ^o^ She’s also residing in Quezon City. Most of the book discussions are being held in Quezon City but my place is far from there.

    About this blog, Ludo: Boardgame Bar & Cafe was featured in POPTALK or iJUANDER in GMA7. I think I already watched the episode about this one. You can dine and play board games at the same time. It’s cool.There’s so many unique cafe in Quezon City. Good Job on your Cafe Review! ^o^/

    • mynihility says:

      Hi Lovely! Thanks for dropping by my blog. Yes, I am a member of TFG in Goodreads and have just started attending discussions September of last year. I have met Alona last February when she moderated a book discussion. I hope you can attend one the f2fs, it’s fun plus you don’t need to be a hardcore bookworm. Mind if I ask where you reside? Maybe you can attend when a venue happens to be nearer your place. Hehe. But it’s usually just around Metro Manila.

      I’m not surprised that the place has been featured on TV (I don’t really watch much TV shows). It’s a unique cafe and there are a lot of patrons, definitely something that would catch attention. Hope to bump into you sometime soon, yes? 🙂

      • Lovely says:

        I see. Sounds Fun! Would love to..Maybe If I can read the assigned book because it’s a book discussion. It’s awkward to attend with nothing to share. I’m residing at dasma,cavite… The only venue near I think will be for me is Mall of Asia. hehe… I want to experience a unique cafe. #somethingnew Thanks for the follow too.. ^o^/

  2. Raymond says:

    What a nice cafe! I don’t mind staying there for longer.

  3. Meliza says:

    So when are we going back? Haha!

  4. The Simple Beginner says:

    I honestly love your cafe reviews especially ones that involve things I’m interested in or loving such as that book cafe you reviewed and this one now! A boardgame cafe!! That is beyond exciting for me!! Those board games on the shelves looks endless. I hope you could stay as long as you want in the cafe, right? I’ve played Pictureka with the kids I work with and that’s pretty cool. I haven’t played the other two you’ve pictured but looks interesting 🙂 xx

    • mynihility says:

      Thank you Janice! I’m glad you like my cafe reviews. And yes, this one is a treasure. We stayed here for about 3 hours. They don’t have a time limit for their customers. You can stay as long as you like and play as much as you want as long you order something from them. 🙂

      • The Simple Beginner says:

        I would make a day out of it! I love games. I would order anything from them!! Haha, I’m jealous though. There’s a similar place here called Mars Hill Cafe and the board games section is hidden unless you know about it. We’ve been once but only played Scrabble. There’s not a lot of board games such as the ones you’ve posted here. But I’m sure I can find similar board games / games places in Sydney too.

        • mynihility says:

          We actually do want to go back and stay longer but of course we would have to be considerate to waiting customers and I do hope they expand the place to accommodate more players. I’m pretty sure you can find similar cafes in Sydney maybe they’re just waiting to be discovered.

Leave a Reply

