Read It: High Fidelity

High Fidelity

High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

TFG: April Book Discussion

“What came first, the music or the misery? Did I listen to music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to music? Do all those records turn you into a melancholy person?”

Laura just broke up with Rob and he is having a hard time patching things up with himself. He convinces himself that Laura was not even at the top five worst heart break he ever had. Or does she? You see, Rob is a 35 year old man running a records store – Championship Vinyl, with his assistants Dick and Barry. Everything is just not going right in his life right now. Sales are down, Laura left him for their neighbor Ian (of all people), and there’s this lingering feeling inside him that he wants to see how his ex-flames fared up after their break-up. His life is a mess and he just doesn’t have things figured out.

I have a lot of feels for this book because it reminds me of someone I know. Reading through the whole novel and seeing how Rob is such an arse just angers me because I just want to slap him and tell him to get his shit together. Anyway, staying true to the book’s concept of making top 5 lists, I’m making my own lists.

Top 5 reasons why I like the book

  1. I like the fact that it’s connected to music and how I discover new records to listen to because of it.
  2. It’s written from a guy’s point of view which I think is not something I read everyday. It’s like a glimpse of what goes on in a male’s mind after a break-up.
  3. Top 5 lists.
  4. It’s not a glamorized love story.
  5. You don’t always get the happily ever after.

Top 5 reasons why Rob is an arse

  1. He’s 35 years old and still doesn’t have his life panned out? Sorry but at least by 35 he must have had a goal, a direction where his life should head on to. He lacks ambition.
  2. Why go back to your exes and ask them ‘why’?! It’s been years since their break-up and he didn’t have the balls to ask them then and there so why now when they have moved on and living a better life – without him.
  3. When one thing goes wrong in his life, he panics and everything else falls apart.
  4. He blames other people why his life is miserable.
  5. He cannot own up to anything and fears change.

Top 5 Quotes from the book

Honestly, there are a lot of dialogues in the book which just hit a nerve. This is exactly the reason why I don’t like reading contemporary romance novels (at least for now!) and am reading more fantasy books.

  1. Sentimental music has this great way of taking you back somewhere at the same time that it takes you forward, so you feel nostalgic and hopeful at the same time.

  2. Sometimes it seems as though the only way a man can judge his own niceness, his own decency, is by looking at his relationships with women, or rather, with prospective or current sexual partners.

  3. I’ve worked out that I was real lonely, and I went and jumped into bed with the first person who’d have me.

  4. You have to work at relationships. You can’t just walk out on them every time something goes wrong.

  5. I owe it to myself to go out on the edge, Rob, and this group really does go out on the edge. Over it, in fact.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Read It: High Fidelity

  1. Meliza says:

    This reminds you of who? Hahaha! #tsismosa

Leave a Reply

