Now Watching: Sherlock (TV Series)

During the long weekend, I felt the need to just stay at home and binge watch for a change. I didn’t go out (except for Saturday afternoon), read nor work but just caught up with different TV series which I have on my To-watch list.

I love watching mystery- thriller series. I’m a fan of CSI (but that’s for another post) so Sherlock was naturally something I’d love to watch as well. I have watched only one episode of Sherlock a few years ago and was not able to catch up on the latest episodes. It was only last weekend that I was able to fully watch all 3 seasons finally. Yey!

Sherlock is a British TV series created by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss,  and is an adaptation  of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories. It is set in modern day London and depicts Sherlock Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch) as an independent detective solving mysteries for private individuals. He is assisted by his friend Dr. John Watson (Martin Freeman), a retired military doctor. Together, they solve mysteries in their own peculiar ways and further on were tapped by the local police service to help solve crimes.

This is very different from other crime series I have watched and I find this more amusing than the others. Mysteries and crimes are solved with wit and humor and shows how Sherlock’s thought process in every episode. The series’ Jim Moriarty (Andrew Scott) is a very effective anti-hero. While watching the series and hearing Moriarty, I actually can’t help but think of Him from the Powerpuff Girls because of his voice and the way he talks, haha. The series has run for 3 seasons with 3 episodes each while the 4th season is yet to be announced.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Now Watching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Now Watching: Sherlock (TV Series)

  1. Oh. Sherlock. I have also watched the series!!! Btw, the 4th installation is on January 2016, just so you know. hahaha 🙂

    • Elaine says:

      Really?! I can’t wait for the 4th season. 🙂

      • Yeah. And Moriarty is BACK!

        • Elaine says:

          Yes! Moriarty! I’m very curious to find out how it’s possible that he’s alive. >.<

          • Yes, I’m very curious too. Just like how Sherlock lives after that heartbreaking 2nd season. Hahahaha

          • Elaine says:

            Definitely something to look forward to. What do you think of Mary then? I also want to know her background. 🙂

          • She is once an assassin, right? I don’t know how to feel about her character. I’m still suspicious about her.
            However, in the original Sherlock Holmes, Mary is a good person.
            So, I really don’t know really. Maybe BBC will be true to Sherlock Holmes original story.

          • Elaine says:

            Yes, she was but it was vaguely shown what kind of a person she was in the past. I don’t know still where to place her whether she’s with them or not though I’m hoping she’s a good for the sake of John. I haven’t read the books yet but I’m planning to pick it up real soon. 🙂

          • Let’s hope that she’s a good person until the end. Haha. But if not, let’s hope Moffat will think of a good backstory for Mary. Hahaha 🙂
            Yes, please do read the original Sherlock Holmes.
            🙂

Leave a Reply

