Read It: The Romanov Sisters

The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra

The Romanov Sisters

by Helen Rappaport

I wanted to shake up my reading list a bit so I tried to find a book that is not something I would typically read. I am also quite vocal about how bored I get in reading historical themed novels and am not really into biographies, so now, here I was trying to hit two birds in one stone. Hehehe.

The Romanov Sisters is an in-depth narration of how Tsar Nicholas II and his family lived, from their rise to power to unwanted demise. It told the tale of how the Romanov family lived from the Tsar’s marriage, to the growth of their family up until the very end. It focused more on the personal life of the sisters and how they socialized with the people surrounding them. More like a diary of different milestones in the lives of the children. Reading on through the chapters were personal accounts from people who have known them, diary entries and letters that showed that despite their status, the Tsar and Tsarina tried their best to give their children a happy and ordinary life. Which makes me wonder, how much does Olga, Maria, Tatiana, Anastasia and Alexei know about the current events in Russia (and/or the world) during their life? Were they aware of the political tension in their country and the reasons why their father abdicated the throne?

Overall, I think this was a good read for people like me who would like to start reading non-fiction books. The narration was clear and precise, and it was not as boring as I thought it would be. I know after this, I’ll be going back to my favorite genres but it’s good to discover and learn something new every once in a while.

About Elaine

interior designer | occasional bookworm | closet otaku | music lover | frustrated craftsman | lazy artist | part time bum
This entry was posted in Read It and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Read It: The Romanov Sisters

  1. Joey says:

    Wow! That looks like a feminist book. Plus, I like the cover; that must be as enticing as its content. .. And reading non-fictions is also interesting. You can learn a lot from those people you’ve never met. πŸ˜‰

    • Elaine says:

      Yes, I personally think the book was interesting. I’m the type of reader who drops the book when I am not interested, so I guess this shows how engaging it can be. Wish I tried to read these types of biographies when I was in school learning about history. Haha. It would’ve helped a lot.

      Do you like reading biographies? Any interesting reads you’d like to recommend? πŸ™‚

      • Joey says:

        Yes, I do love both autobiographies and biographies. I’ve read some. Let me just mention the most memorable ones for me are :

        1. The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Alex Haley : You might end up differentiating between Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcolm X
        2. Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou: A very life-transforming book. πŸ˜‰
        3. The Seventh Storey Mountain by Thomas Merton: It’s a deep book. I’m an atheist, but Merton taught me why people turn to religion in the context of psychology.
        4.The Life You Save May Be Your Own: An American Pilgrimage by Paul Elie: It’s a compilation of three stories about three religious figures. It’s a soothing book for me.
        5. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt: One of my most faves. It’s a heart-breaking story. Prepare two rolls of tissues. You might not stand the miserable scenes here.
        6.Wild Swans by Jung Chang: It’s an ambitious autobiographical novel, but you can learn a great deal of Chinese history. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

